One of the best things about going to see my husband’s family in Goshen, Indiana are waking up to my father in-law’s scones! He makes these every time we visit and they are so delicious to slice in half, toast a bit and smother in jams. There are always some for us to take on our 10 hour road trip home when we leave – such a great tradition!

Here is John King’s recipe. I made these recently and didn’t have honey so I omitted that. We also used vanilla yogurt, whole wheat white flour & vegetable oil as substitutes. I made half with currants and half with dark chocolate chips. Great for guests and then to have on hand for the week! I like to make small ones for a little snack (my go to when the hunger pains set in at a 3am breast feeding with my baby boy).

king scones

 

Orange marmalade, jams and lemon curd are all delicious on these.

