Lately I’ve been craving lots of pumpkin. I like to blame that desire on this baby that’s been in my belly for 32 weeks now. So out of desperation and lack of desire to leave the house, I see what I can make with what I have around.

I found this recipe for bars and since I didn’t have enough cream cheese I decided to combine it with the pie recipe on the back of a Libby’s Pumpkin can.

They turned out to be just what I wanted.

Image

Recipe (Carrie version):

CRUST:
1 cup white whole wheat flour
1/2 cup brown sugar
8 tablespoons butter (softened)
3/4 cup chopped pecans
Pulse together in food processor til crumbly. Press most in 9×11 pan but save a bit for topping.
Bake at 350 for 15 min.
FILLING:
1 can of pumpkin
1 can of evaporated milk (12 ounce)
2 eggs
Softened cream cheese (3 ounces or more)
1 tsp. nutmeg, vanilla, cinnamon, allspice (whatever you have of these)
pinch of salt, ginger, cloves
3/4 C. sugar
Mix together with hand mixer and pour into baked crust. Top with the rest of the crumbly toppings. Bake at 350 for 45 min.
Cool. Eat. Add whipped cream/ice cream..you know the drill.
