I bought some off brand sugar and found a recipe on the back for soccer practice bars. Well that sounds kinda healthy right? I changed it to make it even better for you…and they turned out great! Still a lot of butter and sugar but at least you are eating whole wheat flour and steel cut oats.

Recipe (Carrie version):

  • 1/2 c. butter
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 c. natural peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 c. white whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 c. steel cut oats (I used Irish style?)
  • 1 c. dark chocolate chips (optional – I would have added if I had them!)

Preheat oven to 350.

Cream butter and sugars. Add egg and PB and mix well. Stir in soda, salt, flour and oatmeal. And choco chips!

Spoon onto cookie sheet. I ended up baking these for about 20 min, but check and bake to your liking.

